Five high school students win Presidential Scholarships from the Mount.

Mount St. Joseph University president with high school student holding sign.

CINCINNATI, Oh. – Some of the region’s top high school students have received scholarships to Mount St. Joseph University (MSJ) that were presented in person by top Mount leaders including University President H James Williams, Ph.D.

“One of the pure joys of serving in education is providing the ability for young persons to pursue their dreams,” Dr. Williams said. “Being able to announce and present scholarships to our future students provides moments that we, frankly, never forget. We are proud and excited to welcome these very deserving students to the Mount and we offer special congratulations to the five winners of the Mount’s Presidential Scholarship.” 

Through the scholarship selection process, five area students were awarded the Mount St. Joseph University Presidential Scholarship, which provides each student the equivalent of full tuition and fees for four years (eight semesters).

The Presidential Scholarship winners, their planned area of study and high school are:

  • Evan Barker, Business -Villa Madonna Academy.
  • Lindsey Bevak, Biomedical Science – Monroe High School.
  • Savannah Coomer, Education – Franklin High School.
  • Ella Kuhnell, Art Education- Liberty Bible Academy.
  • Shannon Linko, Nursing – Taylor High School.

Joining Dr. Williams in presenting the Presidential Scholarships were Gene Kritsky, Ph.D., Dean of Behavioral and Natural Sciences; Laura Saylor, Ph.D., Dean of Education; Michael Sontag, Ph.D., Dean of Arts & Humanities; Darla Vale, Ph.D., Dean of Health Sciences; Sharon Wagner, Ph.D., Dean of Education.

A total of 88 students attended the scholarship event that was held in early February on the Mount’s campus. Students were divided into groups based on program interest and participated in activities that highlighted various majors. In addition to the on-campus activities the students were asked to produce a video that described themselves in a creative manner.

Scholars that attended the event, but did not receive one of the five Presidential Scholarships, were awarded a Dean’s Scholarship in the amount of $2,000 for four years (eight semesters).

 Watch five local high school students receive their MSJ scholarship surprise in the video below:

About the Mount

As a Catholic institution rooted in the values of the Sisters of Charity, Mount St. Joseph University excels at serving the common good. Undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral students at the Mount are inspired to think beyond the classroom and redraw the bounds of what’s possible for their futures. This is accomplished through individualized educational experiences, a safe, secure campus environment, and an all-in commitment from faculty and staff to inspire students to reach their highest potential. The Mount fosters life-long learners who serve, care, and contribute to the world beyond their front doors.