Mount St. Joseph University

Twenty-two Years of Celebrating Nursing

Academics, Alumni & Giving, Health Sciences, MAGELIN, Nursing, School of Health Sciences, Department of Nursing

By: Kathleen Cardwell

File Under: academics, events, scholarships, school of health sciences

Several of the region's most accomplished health care educators and practitioners recently gathered to honor the accomplishments of their peers at Mount St. Joseph University's Leadership in Nursing Program. The special evening also included recognition of scholarship recipients who are students in the Mount's School of Health Sciences.

In its 22nd year, the Mount's Leadership in Nursing Program presents five nominated recipients with an award for their individual efforts and contributions to the field of nursing. The Master of Ceremony for this year's event was Liz Bonis, currently the Health & Medical Reporter at WKRC-TV, Local 12 in Cincinnati for Sinclair Broadcast Group, Inc. Liz Bonis is a registered dietitian, a certified personal trainer and former diabetes educator with a master’s degree in public communication/radio-television journalism.

The Mount's 2017 Leadership in Nursing Award Recipients for are:

Sara Frazee, RN, MSN, CNN, CDN, CN4
Lifetime Achievement in Nursing Leadership

Sara Frazee’s nursing career spans over 30 years of leadership at the bedside and in the community and her nursing journey includes a breadth of clinical specialties including trauma, hospice, telemetry, bone marrow transplant and dialysis. Sara's diverse experience as a staff nurse, manager and educator provide her with a perspective that is respected across the organization. She has been the charge nurse on the Dialysis/Apheresis Unit at UC Health Medical Center since 2013.

Judi Schofield, RN, MSN, NE-BC
Distinguished Nurse Administrator

According to her nominator, Judi’s promotion of a positive, quality focused work environment is what helped lead The Christ Hospital to achieve re-designation of Magnet status. Judi continuously collaborates with and empowers nurses to recognize nursing excellence in their practice and the practice of others. As Director of Nursing Quality and Safety, the welfare of clients and colleagues at The Christ Hospital is always Judi’s number one priority.

Michael Mullen, RN, MSN
Distinguished Nurse Educator

Michael Mullen has been practicing nursing since graduating from Miami University over twenty five years ago with an Associate Degree in Nursing. He also holds a Bachelor and Master’s degree in Nursing in addition to a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and courses towards a master’s degree in religion. Since 2006, Michael has worked at TriHealth and since 2012 he has been the Nurse Educator for Good Samaritan Hospital and Western Ridge Emergency Departments.

Julie Miller, PhD, APRN, PNP-BC, FNP-C, CPNP-AC
Distinguished Nurse Researcher
At Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center (CCHMC), Julie has been a role model for other nurse practitioners to conduct research and disseminate their findings. She has researched topics of importance to nursing practice and disseminated her findings through publications and presentations. Julie has also been an advocate for innovative approaches to problem-solving to improve patient outcomes. She is a researcher at heart and will continue to critically evaluate nursing practice and contribute to healthcare outcomes.

Tonya Stewart Honeycutt, '92, RN, BSN
Distinguished Alumni Nurse Leader

For the last five years Tonya has served as the Clinical Nursing Director of Ambulatory Specialty Services at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center (CCHMC). She is currently taking courses to earn a Master of Science in Nursing degree at Xavier University with an anticipated graduation date of May, 2018. Tonya’s passionate, inspirational leadership has contributed to a culture of excellence and transformed nursing practice at CCHMC and in the community.

The Mount's Leadership in Nursing Awards Program also recognizes scholarship recipients who are students in the Mount's School of Health Sciences. The 2017 scholarship recipients are:

Gretchen Rogers, MSN, CNP
DNP Scholarship Recipient

Gretchen Rogers is a pediatric nurse practitioner at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center. Gretchen is in her third year of the Mount's DNP program where her DNP project is focused on implementation of telemedicine in assessing patients remotely prior to surgery.

Janet Campbell, BSN, RN, CCRN
MSN Scholarship Recipient
Janet Campbell is an Education Specialist whose primary role is the ACLS and PALS Coordinator for TriHealth, as well as Coordinator of the Critical Care Nurse Development Program in the Corporate Education Department.

Shireen Shatti
MSN-MAGELIN Scholarship Recipient

Shireen Shatti is an MSN- MAGELIN student in her final semester. She demonstrates leadership as her cohort’s class representative to the Student Affairs Committee.

Emilee Hollis
BSN Pre-Licensure Scholarship Recipient
Emilee Hollis is a senior nursing student in the BSN Program at the Mount. She currently works at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center as a PCA.

Tamara Belperio, RN
RN-BSN Scholarship Recipient
Tamara Belperio has been a Registered Nurse since 1975, holding a variety of nursing positions within the operating room setting. She is currently employed at The Christ Hospital in Perioperative Services.

The Mount's School of Health Sciences is appreciative of the corporate sponsors of this year's Leadership in Nursing Awards Programs: Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, CTI Clinical Trial and Consulting Services, SC Ministry Foundation, Sisters of Charity of Cincinnati The Christ Hospital, and TriHealth.