Mount St. Joseph University

Mount St. Joseph University announces game-changing gift

Academics, Alumni & Giving, Press Releases


File Under: alumni, donor, jubilee, scholarship

Tony Aretz speaking at Jubilee.

Mount St. Joseph University announced it has received a $1 million gift from an anonymous donor. This marks only the second single gift of this magnitude from a living individual that the University has ever received.

Mount President Tony Aretz announced the transformational gift at the University’s annual scholarship fundraiser, The Mount Jubilee, which was held at Music Hall on Thursday night. More than 700 students each year benefit from the scholarship fundraiser.

“I was overtaken with gratitude and humbled by the donor’s insistence that this go to areas deemed most needed by our board, led by our chairman, Ken Stecher,” Aretz said. “Such extraordinary generosity not just of dollars, but of spirit, is what I have had the privilege to experience each time I have met with Mount donors, alumni and friends. This gift, however, could be a game-changer for the Mount.”

The specific purpose for use of the gift has yet to be decided, but it represents one of the university’s lead gifts in a comprehensive campaign effort that is still in the quiet phase.

“Mount St. Joseph University is known for its careful stewardship of funds and its ability to truly impact its students with the dollars invested by our donors,” said Stecher. “Both the magnitude of this gift and the donor’s direction to the board to direct its impact is evidence that philanthropic leaders in this community trust that the Mount will do well with their generosity. This is truly humbling and we are committed to honoring the trust that has been offered by such an extraordinarily generous gift.”

In addition to raising money for the University’s scholarship fund, the Mount Jubilee recognized alumni and supporters, including:

• Jean Frolicher ’52, Ann Rasche Award
• Jacob G. Schmidlapp Trusts, Trustees Award
• Charlotte B. Schmidlapp Fund, Fifth Third Bank, Trustees Award
• The Cincinnati Insurance Companies

The Mount also presented Future Five Awards to alumni, including:
• William Lambers ’06, ’95
• Erika Lehman ’04
• Eucabeth Akinyi Mose ’10
• Tori Schaefer, Ph.D. ’04
• 2nd Lt. Mathew Wayne Schmittou ’12

Co-chairs for this year’s annual benefit were Anita Sullivan Doyle, Don Doyle, Linda Stalf Antus, and Paul Antus. Brad Johansen, anchor/reporter at Local 12, served as the emcee.

Mount St. Joseph University is an undergraduate and graduate Catholic university that provides an interdisciplinary liberal arts and professional curriculum emphasizing values, service and social responsibility.