Mount St. Joseph University

Mount honors five healthcare leaders with Leadership in Nursing Awards

Academics, Health Sciences, Press Releases

By: Amanda Gratsch

File Under: awards, graduate nursing, lnap, nursing

Mount St. Joseph University will honor five award recipients at the annual Leadership in Nursing Awards Program event at the Drees Pavilion in Devou Park in Covington, Kentucky on Wednesday, Oct. 15, 2014.

Sponsored by Mercy Health, the event will present five recipients with an award for their individual efforts and contributions made in the nursing field.

2014 Award Recipients:

Distinguished Alumni Nurse Leader Award—Kathleen Lebowitz, MSN, RN, CEN currently works as an Emergency Services Director at West Chester Hospital. Prior to this position, Lebowitz worked as a Staff Registered Nurse at several locations, including Bethesda North Hospital, Flower Hospital, Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Salem Hospital, St. Francis-St. George Hospital and High Tech Staffing Agency. Throughout her career, Lebowitz achieved revenue generation, business development, leadership and staff development.

Distinguished Nurse Administrator Award—Earl Dalton, MHA, MSL, BSN, RN, NEA-BC works as a Medical-Surgical Director at Bethesda North Hospital. Dalton began as an Assistant Nurse Manager at Durham Regional Hospital in 1999. Here, he was able to advance to a Critical Care Nurse Clinician, Clinical Operations Director and finally to the Director of Critical Care and Cath Lab Services. He later joined Stamford Health System in 2009 as the Executive Director of Nursing, where he improved operations of the newly formed open heart program through nurse development.

Distinguished Nurse Educator Award—Teresa Gethy-Eby, Ph.D., RN is a Department Chair & Program Director of the BSN Program at Good Samaritan College of Nursing and Health Science. Gethy-Eby began as a Clinical Nurse Specialist in Gerontology at Deaconess Hospital, where she advanced to become an Education & Research Facilitator where she planned, implemented and evaluated continuing education programs for nurses and in-service programs for all hospital staff. She joined Good Samaritan in 2006, which led her to her current position there.

Lifetime Achievement in Nursing Award—Mary Irvin, RN, MSN, MBA, NEA-BC is currently the Senior Vice President & Chief Nursing Executive at TriHealth HealthCare System. Irvin began her career at Good Samaritan Hospital as a Staff Nurse in 1977, where she later joined Mercy Health Partners as the Vice President of Nursing. Here, she achieved overall targeted productivity levels for five consecutive years. Irvin later re-joined Good Samaritan Hospital as Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer in 2000, where she accomplished and exceeded quality clinical goals each year.

 Distinguished Nurse Researcher Award—Donna Martsolf, Ph.D., RN, FAAN is the Associate Dean of Research and Translation at the University of Cincinnati College of Nursing. Martsolf has completed numerous research, grants, publications and presentations in the nursing field. She has taken part in student research advisement and has participated in many professional, international, national, state, university and college organizations. Martsolf was a Co-Recipient (with C.B. Draucker, et al) of the 2009 Research Article Award, Research in Nursing & Health and also received the “Best of the Journal of Nursing Scholarship – World Health” Award in 2005.