Mount St. Joseph University

Celebration of Teaching and Learning Recognizes Student Achievements

Academics, Campus News, Student Life, School of Arts & Humanities, School of Behavioral & Natural Sciences, School of Business, School of Education, School of Health Sciences, Department of Physical Therapy

By: London Bishop

File Under: awards, celebration of teaching and learning, cooperative education, student organizations, students

The 2019 Celebration of Teaching and Learning was held on Thursday, April 11, 2019. The Honors Convocation recognizes the accomplishments of outstanding faculty, staff and students. Congratulations to all award recipients. 

Bing Litonjua Award for Excellence in International Understanding: Lydia Nash, Doctor of Physical Therapy. This award recognizes a JUNIOR, SENIOR or GRADUATE student who has demonstrated excellence in international understanding, especially with respect to issues of social justice.

Co-Op Student of the Year: Nick Sjulin, Bachelor of Fine Arts in Graphic Design. The Cooperative Education Student of the Year is chosen on the basis of academic performance, number of co-op placements, and achievements as outlined by the student, the employer, and the faculty coordinator.

Distinguished Student Award, Undergraduate:  Emma O’Dell, Bachelor of Arts in Communication and New Media. Distinguished Student Award, Graduate:  Vanessa Vonderhaar-Picard, Doctor of Nursing Practice. This is the highest honor the Mount bestows upon graduating seniors in the traditional and nontraditional baccalaureate programs and the graduate programs. The recipients must demonstrate superior academic performance, community service in keeping with the Christian mission of the Mount, and dynamic interpersonal communication skills in academic and community settings.

St. Catherine Medal— Jenny Kathmann, Bachelor of Arts in Art Education, Photography Minor. The St. Catherine Medal is sponsored by Kappa Gamma Pi, the national Catholic university honor society. It is named for St. Catherine, the patroness of scholars, and honors unusual and unselfish service, an active commitment to faith, and service to church and community.

16 students inducted into Alpha Chi. Alpha Chi is a national coeducational scholarship society honoring students who have demonstrated academic excellence and exemplary character.

5 graduate students and 19 undergraduate students inducted into Kappa Delta Pi. An International Honor Society in Education, Kappa Delta Pi was founded in 1911 to foster excellence in education and promote fellowship among those dedicated to teaching.

23 graduate students and 10 undergraduate students inducted into Kappa Gamma Pi. KGP is the national college honor and service society for honors graduates who demonstrate outstanding scholarship, service achievement and leadership ability.  Members further pledge themselves to continued leadership and future service.

26 students admitted to Chi Alpha Sigma, an honorary college athletic society which recognizes high academic achievement, exemplary character, positive attitude, and sport letter winners at the college level.

21 students recognized for Academic Achievement. Awards are presented to those full-time students who have completed at least 29 semester hours at Mount St. Joseph University while maintaining a 4.0 cumulative grade point average.

14 students recognized as members of the Honors Program. The Honors Program is designed for highly motivated and high achieving students who take a series of challenging and fascinating courses during their years at the Mount.

49 students admitted to Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society, an organization that encourages superior academic achievement among students in their first year in institutions of higher education, to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning, and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their roles in society.

Alumni Book Award: Morgan Carpenter and Andrew J. Keith Presented by the Alumni Association, this award recognizes students for outstanding scholastic or service achievements.

Dr. Peter D. Mosher Physical Therapy Book Scholarship Award: Kevin Hill, Doctor of Physical Therapy, and Chad Janszen, Doctor of Physical Therapy. This award recognizes current MSJ DPT students for their scholastic, professional, and service achievements that contribute to the profession of physical therapy.  The award is intended to support the integration of life and learning into professional practice as a compassionate and competent health care provider.  The Dr. Peter D. Mosher Physical Therapy Book Scholarship Award is an award of three core texts that are utilized extensively in the second and third years of the DPT curriculum.

40 Doctor of Physical Therapy Students Receive White Coats. The white coat represents the common symbol of professionalism among health care professionals and is uniquely coupled with other outward symbols by each individual professional practice.The Doctor of Physical Therapy program, like the University, is committed to excellence which is demonstrated in the department’s mission, philosophy and strategic plan. Through the leadership and guidance of the Program provided by our Program Chair and the support of a core faculty, students receive a quality professional physical therapy education that prepares them to improve function and quality of life of their patients and to contribute positively to solutions in today’s healthcare system. The DPT White Coat Ceremony was held on April 10, 2019 to kick off the Celebration of Teaching and Learning. 

27 Students presented with the Excellence in Leadership Award. Open to all students, this award recognizes those students who demonstrate leadership, character and service in organizations on campus and/or in the community.