Mount St. Joseph University

36th Annual Co-op Dinner Honors Exceptional Students, Faculty, and Employers

Campus News, Career Resources

By: London Bishop

File Under: career, cooperative education, talent opportunity program

The 36th annual Cooperative Education Recognition Dinner was held on Tuesday, April 9th, and recognized three exceptional individuals that demonstrated excellence in cooperative education.

Dr. Eric Johnson, Ph.D., was named Faculty Coordinator of the Year. Dr. Johnson has been working with the Mount’s Co-op program since 2011. His Biology and Chemistry students have worked at locations such as Q Laboratories, UC Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital, and many others. His favorite course to teach is General Chemistry.

The Cincinnati Reds were named Employer of the Year, for going above and beyond in their dedication to student advancement. The Reds have been working with MSJ students since the summer of 2015, and the students they have hired have been extremely happy with the training, the culture, and the networking opportunities they have received. The Reds have also given back to the Mount in a number of ways, including conducting mock interviews, presenting to professional development courses, and participating in First Friday events.

Nick Sjulin, a senior majoring in graphic design, was recognized as Co-op Student of the Year. Nick spent one semester of co-op at Seton High School and three semesters in the Mount's University Communications division. Nick’s supervisor, Greg Goldschmidt stated, “Nick has repeatedly demonstrated his value to the team. I regularly receive positive feedback on his work and professionalism.” Nick’s faculty coordinator, Kurt Grannan stated, “Working with the vendors and production on the MSJ Athletics bus wrap ended up being a great learning experience to help Nick with his design thinking for his Healthy Moms and Babes projects in Brand Identity Design.” After graduation, Nick will be enrolling in the Mount's MBA program.

The dinner also provided an opportunity to recognize the students who achieved Gold level in the Talent Opportunity Program (TOP): Toria Black, Tyler Britton, Aaron Carter, Riley Ferguson, Emma O’Dell, Matthew Paluga, Ryan Pinckney, Deanna Wilson, and Angelique Woodward.