Professional Awards | Mount St. Joseph University

The DPT Professional Awards recognize outstanding professionals working in the field of physical therapy.


Distinguished Physical Therapy Administrator

The recipient of the Distinguished Physical Therapy Administrator Award is recognized for outstanding leadership and management skills within the field of physical therapy administration, be a licensed physical therapist, and is presently employed in the field of physical therapy administration.

Distinguished Physical Therapy Educator

The recipient of the Distinguished Physical Therapy Educator Award is recognized by both students and colleagues for commitment to academia and the advancement of physical therapy knowledge; is presently employed in a physical therapy faculty position and holds a master's or doctoral degree.

Distinguished Physical Therapy Researcher

The recipient of the Distinguished Physical Therapist Researcher Award is recognized for significant research activities which have positively affected physical therapy practice, has a master's or doctoral degree and demonstrates recent involvement in research endeavors related to physical therapy.

Lifetime Achievement in Physical Therapy Award

The Lifetime Achievement in Physical Therapy Award recognizes a physical therapy leader whose career has significantly impacted physical therapy, health care and the community; is a licensed physical therapist and has practiced physical therapy for over twenty years.

MSJ Physical Therapy Alumni Leader

The Alumni Physical Therapy Leader Award recognizes an alumnus who earned a physical therapy degree at Mount St. Joseph University and is a leader in physical therapy practice.

The DPT Awards and Scholarship Committee invites the community to participate in this program by nominating a physical therapy colleague for an award. Complete descriptions of the awards can be found in the related documents on the right. Submissions must be received by March 1st, and must include:

    A completed nomination form
    A nomination narrative typed or printed legibly
    A current curriculum vita or resume for the nominee

Award Winners

Distinguished Physical Therapy Administrator

  • 2014: Phil Cadman, PT, DPT
  • 2012: Opal Riddle, PT, DPT
  • 2011: Erin (Mallory) Hofmeyer, PT, DPT
  • 2010: Shannon Dunn, PT, MPT
  • 2009: Jeanine Gunn, PT, DPT

Distinguished Physical Therapy Clinical Instructor

  • 2017: Meredith Zielinski, PT, DPT
  • 2016: Emily Osborne, PT
  • 2015: Andrew Burchett, PT, DPT, ATC
  • 2014: Andrew Beardslee, PT, DPT
  • 2013: Sarah Cash, PT, DPT
  • 2012: Andrew Beardslee, PT, DPT
  • 2011: Eric Schneider, PT, MPT
  • 2010: JD Daruwalla, PT
  • 2009: Dana Gifford, PT, MPT
  • 2008: Jen Sirotak, PT, MPT, DPT, OCS, SCS

Distinguished Physical Therapy Educator

  • 2017: Terri Glenn, PT, PhD
  • 2016: Sam Kegerreis, PT, MS, ATR
  • 2015: Stephanie Kelly, PT, PhD
  • 2014: Susan Deusinger, PT, PhD, FAPTA
  • 2013: Margret Robinson OT, CHT

Distinguished Physical Therapy Researcher

  • 2014: Jason Hugentobler, PT, DPT, SCS, CSCS, CWT
  • 2010: Kari Dunning, PT, M.S., Ph.D.
  • 2009: Laura Schmitt, PT, MPT, Ph.D.

MSJ Physical Therapy Alumni Leader

  • 2017: Jamie Bayliss, PT, MPT, DHSc
  • 2016: Andrew Beardslee, PT, DPT
  • 2015: Erin Hofmeyer, PT, DPT
  • 2012: Kelly Moore, PT, MPT
  • 2011: Chris Chirumbolo, PT, MPT, GCS  
  • 2010: Rob Dunham, PT, DPT

Lifetime Achievement in Physical Therapy

  • 2017: Terry Malone, PT, MPT, EdD
  • 2014: Alan Howell, PT, ATC, SCS
  • 2010: Carolyn Kisner, PT, MS