Mount St. Joseph University

Mount honors alumni with awards

Alumni & Giving, Press Releases


Group of award winners.

Six Mount alumnae received alumni awards during Reunion Weekend.

Jane Ackerman Hoffman '67 received the Sister Mary Lea Muller Human Service Award which is given to an alumnus who has devoted his/her life to service for others.  Hoffman is active in the pro-life ministry and was one of the founders of Pregnancy Center East in Cincinnati.  She served as vice president of Right to Life of Greater Cincinnati for 25 years and was honored with the organization's prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award.  She was elected as the Ohio delegate to the United Nation's International Women's Year project, serving as the public relations and media coordinator for the nation's largest pro-life delegation.  Hoffman was appointed by the Ohio Governor to the White House Conference on the family, and joined the nation's first National Abstinence Conference.

Phyllis Platfood Lea '67 received the Alumni Career Achievement Award which is given to an alumnus for outstanding achievement in a career field.  Lea began a career in engineering during a time when very few women were in the field.  After working as an engineering associate for Western Electric in Atlanta, she and two colleagues formed a company, MinTel Communications.  In 1995, MinTel was listed in the Atlanta Business Chronicle as one of the city’s top 25 women-owned firms.

Dolores Daniel '55 received the Faculty Appreciation Award which is given in honor of her dedication to teaching.  Daniel was a member of the Mount’s nursing faculty for 28 years and retired from the Mount in 1992.  After retirement, she served as a guest lecturer for 10 years for the nursing department and was one of the founding members of the LNAP (Leadership in Nursing Awards Program), that recognizes outstanding nurses for their leadership and contribution.  She also helped with the Campaign for Nursing Excellence for the new Nursing Learning Lab at the Mount.

Martha Schmitt McCarthy '62 received the Alumni Career Achievement Award which recognizes outstanding achievement in a career field.  McCarthy has spent much of her career at Mercy Health facilities.  While working at Mercy, she became more aware of the challenges facing the poor who need medical treatment.  She played an instrumental role in the Mission Services Program to connect people who are uninsured or underinsured with a network of doctors who will treat them.  She is widely admired for her dedication to family as well as to the poor.

Robyn Ruede Caponi '72 received the Loretta Richards Distinguished Alumni Award which is the highest award given to an alumnus in recognition of loyal service to the College.  Caponi earned a scholarship to the Mount where she graduated with a social studies degree in 1972.  She taught at Oak Hills High School before moving to Michigan where she taught social studies and English.  While raising three daughters, she volunteered in leadership roles in their schools, including Girl Scouts and various home and school associations, and remained active in parish activities.  Caponi has remained active with the Mount over the years as a member of the Alumni Board, making numerous trips to Cincinnati for meetings and events, and has chaired numerous class reunions.  She now serves on the Board of Trustees of the Ignatian Solidarity Network, a national group dedicated to mobilizing people as social justice leaders.

Elaine Busch Billmire '72 received the Sister Mary Lea Mueller Human Service Award which recognizes an alumnus for devoting his/her life to service to others.  Dr. Billmire has dedicated much of her career to advocating for the rights and dignity of children through her success as a pediatrician and her leadership to fight child abuse in Greater Cincinnati.  Her goal to become a doctor began at the Mount, where she earned a scholarship to study chemistry.  She obtained a medical degree from the Ohio State College of Medicine and completed a residency in pediatrics at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital.  Dr. Billmire took on the role of medical director for the Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Child Abuse Team in 1979 and was a founding member of the Hamilton County Child Fatality Review Team.