Celebration of Teaching and Learning to be held April 16



File Under: celebration of teaching and learning

The College of Mount St. Joseph's Celebration of Teaching and Learning will be held Tuesday, April 16. Detailed programs will be available the day of the event.

9:00 a.m
College Theatre Lobby

9:30 a.m.  – 10:30 a.m.
College Theatre
Presented by Lynda Crane, Ph.D. and Tracy McDonough, Ph.D.

10:45 a.m. – 11:45 a.m. PRESENTATIONS

Poetic Stories and Struggle
Recital Hall
Presenters:  Jeff Hillard, MFA, Associate Professor of English
College of Mount St. Joseph Students:  Angela Corbett, Alaina Hartman, Sarah Kaehler,
Zach McCoy, Jacqueline Gabb, Erin Grasty, Rachel Kochensparger, Megan Hatton, Sarah Vonderhaar
McAuley High School Students:  Abby Doyle, Nikki Hoffman, Elizabeth Baxter, Celina Junker, Sammie Hayes, Lauren Jacobson
Mother of Mercy High School Students:  Rebecca Klapper, Katie Ledermeier,
Chelsea Koenig, Alena Flick           
Purcell-Marian High School Students:  Laura Burns, Alex Fields, Brian High, Patrick Hinkle, Lenny Phllips
Seton High School Student:  Mary Moore

Body, Mind, Spirit:   A Wellness Approach to Addictive Behavior
Clifford Room
Presenters:  Panel of Professional Counselors and MSJ students

Family, Community, and Identity:
Oral Histories Illuminate Connections between Neighborhood and Identity
Corona Room
Presenter:  Jim Bodle, Ph.D., Professor of Psychology

Whose Community? Which Common Good?
CL 105
Presenter:  Adam Konopka, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Development of an Interactive Electronic Microbiology Laboratory Manual for
Pre-health Professionals
CL 105
Presenter:  Andrew Rasmussen, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Biology

12:00 p.m. – 1:15 p.m.
College Theatre

S. Adele Clifford Award – Liz Mason
Adjunct Faculty Excelling in Teaching Award – Suzanne C. Smith (Nursing)
Distinguished Scholar – Mark Fischer
Emerging Scholar – Adam Konopka
Mission Award – Professional – Donna Hemberger
Mission Award – Support Staff – Peggy Gruen
Distinguished Student
                Traditional – Jessica Pykosz
                Adult – Greg Williams
                Graduate – Todd Uterstaedt
St. Catherine Medal – Stephen Sutherland
S. Elizabeth Cashman Service Award – Leanne Reichert
Scharfenberger Community Service Award – Laura Beck
Bing Litonjua Award for Excellence in International Understanding – Peter Thompson

12:00 p.m. – 2:15 p.m.
Fifth Third Dining Hall

2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. PRESENTATIONS

Mostly Sitting at My Desk: A Sabbatical Odyssey
2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Clifford Room
Presenter: John A. Ballard, Ph.D., Professor of Management

Who was She? Who are We? What is It? 
Sharing Stories through My Fabric Art
2:00 p.m. – 2:45 p.m.
ART 104
Presenter: Sharon Kesterson Bollen, Ed.D. , Professor of Art

Expanding on the Summer Writing Workshop 2011
with a Focus on Studio Visual Arts and Writing
3:00 p.m. – 4:00 pm.
ART 104
Presenters:  Loyola Walter, M.F.A., Associate Professor of Fine Arts, Art, Art Education and Art History
Pam Korte, M.A., Assistant Professor of Fine Arts, Art, Art Education and Art History

IDS 212 Domestic Violence Awareness Projects
2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Harrington Center Ground Floor

FORCE:  Facing Our Risk of Cancer Empowered
Display and Materials
2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Harrington Center Ground Floor

2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Harrington Center

2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Harrington Center Ground Floor Lounge